BOGO makes me Happy

I apologize for the lack of pictures in advance, my camera isn’t working =(

As I stated in my first post, I consider myself to be quite thrifty.  Needless to say, when I happened upon a buy-one-get-one sale on frozen shrimp, I had to take advantage of it.  One of the perks of my semi-employment is the fact that I have time to cook dinner for my family, something that I haven’t done since high school.  I was especially excited since I recently found this recipe on Allrecipes.com that I made twice at BBQs in Amherst to rave reviews from my friends.  I did make a few tweaks, though:

– I used only one pound of shrimp

– We didn’t have tomato sauce so I used salsa instead, and thus left out the basil

– I subbed cajun seasoning for the cayenne pepper because I thought it would go nicely with the salsa

– Finally, I left out the salt (helloooo nutrition nerd!).  There’s plenty in basically any tomato product you’ll find out there, and I’ve never tasted a shrimp dish that I thought could use a little extra

Overall, here is the recipe I ended up using:

This recipe reminds me of the shrimp that came on top of an amazing salad I had after a long morning of wandering the French Quarter on my trip to New Orleans last month.  My friend Sophia and I had been told it would be nearly impossible to find a salad in a city full of amazing creole cuisine, but we were pleasantly surprised when we stumbled upon Somethin’ Else Cafe, where we both ordered the Popeye salad, which gave us a chance to sample some fresh crab meat and gulf shrimp with a healthy helping of spinach, avocado, and cherry tomatoes – some of my very favorite things! We may or may not have negated that healthy choice by splitting a mug of gumbo…ah, well at least the portion size was right.

While I didn’t recreate this salad exactly, I knew I wanted to put my shrimp on a salad.  I was inspired by the salsa, and topped a big bowl of greens with avocado, un-frozen corn kernels, red onion, red pepper, and tomato.  I squeezed a lime wedge over it, sprinkled a little extra Cajun seasoning, and threw a bit of extra salsa on top for “dressing” (I always do this with my taco salads, too).  It was delicious!  The only thing I’d change would be to add some citrus, perhaps orange segments and make a little vinaigrette.

This morning’s workout

So that was last night, but this morning I woke up, had my oatmeal, and hopped in the pool for a little deep water running.  I guess I decided I needed something a little boring to help me wake up nice and slow.  The truth is, I do try to keep it as exciting as possible.  I bring out my old boombox from 1995 that was once used to blast the Lion King soundtrack as I danced around my room and keep it tuned to WRSI, my favorite radio station around here.  I swim-run in a flattened out sort of figure eight, sprinting the long segments as hard as possible and recovering on the short ones.  Sometimes I watch the clock and tread water legs only then arms only for two minutes each, sprint hard for a minute and recover for a minute, and throw in a lap every now and then if the flies are getting bad, which they were this morning.  Consequently, I quit after 45 minutes, promising myself that I’ll hop back in later after my dentist appointment when it’s 86 degrees.  Ended the workout with a few elevated push-ups using the diving board…fun fun fun!

Question: How do you deal with the summertime bugs?  Do you take your workout inside or just suck it up?

 

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

