Happy Independence Day!!

Again, no food pictures.  Sorry – I’m workin’ on it!

I changed up my breakfast a little today.  Started out with a peach, and followed it with yogurt (not oatmeal).  I had about 3/4 cup of plain Chobani, to which I added about 1/4 cup of pumpkin puree, a handful of blueberries, 3 broken up walnut halves, a scant handful of cheerios, and a drizzle of local honey.  Delicious!

I began adding pumpkin to pretty much everything about a year and a half ago.  It’s a tasty, sneaky way to get a little bit of vegetable into your breakfast and it tastes great in oatmeal, yogurt, as a fat substitute in baked goods, you name it!  It has been said that eating a lot of beta-carotene can give you a bit of a healthy orange glow (a subtle and healthy look, not like tan mom).  In fact, when I began working at the gym at UMass as a nutrition advisor, the first time I met my friend Emily she said: “Aren’t you super healthy?  I heard you glow because you eat so many carrots.”  Where she heard that I’ll never know, but I do get a warm fuzzy feeling from getting a serving of vegetables with my breakfast (again, dork.)

Well, I’m off to get myself ready for James Taylor at Tanglewood – a western Mass Fourth of July tradition.  I hope everyone has a great Fourth!  Here’s a little picture and quote I found on a Reader’s Digest slideshow to boost your patriotism.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

