NOLA Farmer’s Market!

One of my favorite things about living in Amherst was how important agriculture was to the community.  The Saturday farmer’s market was equally as important as my long run that shared the day, and I would make sure to get up at 6:30 if that’s what it took to finish my 20-milers well before the market closed so that I could get a good pick of the gorgeous produce that was offered every single Saturday.  In my opinion, there is nothing better than strolling the stalls with a pint of sungold cherry tomatoes that you just bought, sweet and juicy and warm from the sun.

Farmer’s markets often get a bad rap for being expensive, but that’s actually a myth.  I’m sure you can find some markets that are a little overpriced but the vast majority have the freshest possible produce for the best possible prices.  As a bonus, you get to interact with the person who grew your produce, learn how to cook it, try all different varieties that you can’t find elsewhere (Purple carrots?  Watermelon radishes?  Sign me up!), see old friends, and make new ones.  The social experience of the market can become as important as the  nutritional benefit of the fresh produce that is purchased there.  Man, I love it!

As you can imagine, I was SUPER excited to check out the Crescent City Farmer’s Market.  I actually realized yesterday morning while Skyping with James, and I’d be lying if I said the realization wasn’t accompanied by a little victory dance.  I met my friend Alysse, her mom, and my friend Ellen, and was delighted by the things I saw and tasted – cajun chevre, anyone?  Homemade hummus and tabbouleh?  $1 tamales?  Big, beautiful Creole tomatoes?  I’ll leave you with some pictures from the market.

Never have I seen shrimp this beautiful!

Never have I seen beautiful shrimp this inexpensive!

INCREDIBLE selection of fresh posicles and juices. Guess which I picked!

Avocado Papaya!

Gorgeous produce – purple peas anyone?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

