Balsamic pork and peaches

After realizing that I haven’t eaten meat since last Wednesday (my hectic move-in diet consisted mainly of a large batch of tofu stir fry that has been reheated several times…that and Greek yogurt), I decided it was time to go to the grocery store.

Peaches make life better.

I have too many peaches left from the giant box my mom bought back in Georgia to eat before they go bad, so I had a vague idea that I would pair peaches and pork, and cook with balsamic vinegar.  After a little poking around on the internet, I found a recipe on cooking light to use as a guide.

I went to the Rouses on Tchoupitoulas, which I quickly decided is my new favorite grocery store, mainly because of the wine selection and the fact that they carry the least expensive canned pumpkin I’ve found to date.  Also of note, they carry dry aged beef.  While the selection is incredibly expansive, prices are still excellent.  I got my boneless pork sirloin chops for just $2.67/lb!  This place is my dream!

I love you

Back home, I immediately froze two of the four pork chops, and halved the marinade exactly as it is written in the recipe.  Since I don’t have a grill, I decided to change the grilled peach accompaniment to a balsamic peach and red onion relish.  I cooked an entire red onion slow with salt and pepper and low until they just began to brown.  Then, I added a peeled sliced peach, turned up the heat, and hit the whole thing with a generous splash of balsamic vinegar.  My mother hates vinegar and always makes fun of me because once I tasted a dish (probably pea soup) and decided: “It needs acid!”  For some reason, she thought it was hilarious and quotes that to this day.

The pork chops baked at 350 for 25 minutes, and were joined by a bunch of asparagus on the other half of the baking sheet about 10 minutes in.  It came out great!  Next time I might add thyme to the peaches and onions.  Forgive the terrible quality of most of these pictures, I have neither a camera nor a good camera on my phone.

Balsamic marinated pork with balsamic peach and onion relish on arugala with roasted asparagus

I wasn’t able to eat that entire portion of pork – it was about two servings’ worth.  This meal would make a great sandwich, and with the leftovers I’ve got that is a definite possibility.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

