One week post-move: my refrigerator

It’s hard to believe that I’ve been here for a week already.  In that time, I’ve been to a few grocery stores and made a few different dinners.  I haven’t had the time to accumulate food for times of need (except a 1-lb bag of shrimp that was so much cheaper than it would have been at home), which means that what I’ve got are the essentials.  So what do I have?

In the pantry, I have five different vinegars that I brought from home: white, red wine, apple cider, rice wine, and balsamic.  They’re essential for cooking, and though I’ve only used the balsamic over the past week, you can bet that I’ll be pulling out the others in no time.

I also have cans of garbanzo beans and pumpkin in the pantry.  I put pumpkin in my oatmeal (or oat bran, as it may not be) in the morning – just a happy little nutrient rich addition.  Garbanzo beans are a great plant-based source of protein and fiber that I like to add to stir fries, curries (which I have yet to make), and salads.

In one cabinet, I have all the oatmeal essentials: oats, raisins, and walnuts. I also have a box of minute brown rice, which is way quicker and easier than regular brown rice and equally as nutritious.  A box of wheat thins and Special K that my parents left here round it out.  Wheat thins are one of my favorite snack items, especially when life gets really busy.  A ziploc bag with a handful of wheat thins and peanuts (roasted, unsalted) was a standard in my backpack during undergrad.

On the counter is a bowl that I bought for fruit, which currently contains a red onion, garlic bulb, lemons and limes, two grapefruits, one roma tomato (for egg and toast!) and the peaches I’m trying to finish up.

If anyone feels inclined to buy me a beautiful wooden fruit bowl, my birthday is in November 😉

The refrigerator gets more interesting.  I’ve got two different containers of salad greens, which I eat every day.  I have the remaining half of a massive creole tomato that I bought at the farmer’s market last weekend, as well as the end of a cucumber that was also purchased there.  I have some broccoli, carrots, and celery that make great snacks dipped in hummus, which is a lot harder to find here than at home.  The tub I have right now has cumin in it – something I’ve never experienced before, but I really like the savory kick it gives.  I have a bag of granny smith apples, which I eat chopped up in my oats and out of hand.  There is also a loaf of whole wheat bread, which I haven’t eaten much of because I don’t have a toaster yet and my favorite application of bread is an egg and toast.  Speaking of which, I also have a dozen eggs.  There’s the remainder of a bunch of asparagus that I should probably roast later with lunch, leftovers
from Monday’s pork and peaches, and a lemon and lime I’ve already started using.  The omnipresent Chobani 0% plain greek yogurt.  For condiments in the door, there is peanut butter and Soy Vey teriyaki sauce; and ground flaxseed which goes in my breakfast in the morning for extra omega-3s.  This is more important when I’m running, because I need the anti-inflammatory properties (especially for my knees).

Ignore my father’s left over diet coke in the corner of the picture, which may never be finished.

In the freezer, I have two pork chops that I didn’t use from the package I bought to make pork and peaches, 1lb of frozen shrimp, and frozen blackberries, raspberries, and mango chunks that are perfect yogurt toppings.

So there you have it, my food!  It does seem like more now that I’ve written it all down.

This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

