One milestone leads to another

Milestone 1: Well folks, it happened: it’s been two months and I finally finished my first jar of peanut butter in New Orleans!

Milestone 2: First overnight oats!!

If you follow the healthy living blogworld, you are probably thinking to yourself: has this girl been living under a rock???  And to that I say, almost.  But no.  I have just been content with my oatmeal and oat bran as they are.  However, last night I decided that my peanut butter jar was a sign from the heavens.  It was time.

I decided to make enough for at least two days and added:

– 2/3 cup oatmeal

– 2/3 cup milk

– 2/3 cup yogurt (eyeballed that one)

– ground flax

– cinnamon and nutmeg

and let it all sit in the refrigerator over night.  This is what I had in the morning:

yum?

I stirred it up a bunch, scooped out half, and to that half added pumpkin, apple, walnuts (n-3!) and a sprinkling of granola from the Crescent City Farmer’s Market.

In comparison to regular oats, they’re cold, softer/mushier, and creamier.  Obviously there is a bunch of dairy in there that I don’t normally add, but it had a very mild and creamy flavor that was really pretty nice.  And sometimes I don’t need the warmth of my typical oatmeal, especially when it’s in the 80s outside.  The verdict?  I liked it and I’ll do it again!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

