Zucchini lo mein with teriyaki salmon

You may remember the recipes that I posted from the cooking demo with Molly Kimball.  One was Zucchini faux lo mein, which sounded (and smelled) way too good to pass up!  Intrigued, I decided I would make a version of the dish myself, with some tweaks to suit my tastes. Since teriyaki salmon is the best thing in the world, or at least one of them, and since I had two fillet in the freezer, it was only natural that I include that as the protein component.

It was time to finally invest in a mandoline to add to my arsenal of kitchen tools:

I went with what I had: onion, carrot, mushroom, spinach, garlic, zucchini, my favorite teriyaki sauce.

One entire zucchini

I sauteed the onion, garlic, and mushrooms for a few minutes until the mushrooms were getting nice and dark, then added the carrots to soften for a bit.  While this was happening, I popped the defrosted fish into the oven at 350 with a drizzle of teriyaki.  Once the carrots had cooked a tad, I added the zucchini and spinach, and a splash of broth that was lying around to steam a bit.  I kept checking on the fish and took it out when it was just cooked through.  I flaked it, threw it in the pot, and added an extra 2-3 tablespoons of teriyaki sauce.

cooked in my soup pot because I don’t have a big skillet

I cooked it all just until the spinach was wilted, then plated it up nice and hot.  This low-carb dinner was absolutely delicious.  You can bet I’ll be making it again soon!

This entry was posted in Nutrition, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zucchini lo mein with teriyaki salmon

  1. Pingback: Smart shopper: make your greens do doube duty. | Powered by Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

