Shaking off the dust

It’s been a while since I wrote anything on here.  You might be wondering why.  If you’re my mom you might be a little worried (sorry mom).

The last I posted, I was having a pretty awful week.  Terrible rotation where I was used as free labor to deliver and telemarket, which highlighted some of the things I hate about living here, namely the traffic, which forced me to spend around $60 of gas money for a woman who gave me nothing – not even a valuable learning experience for the internship.  Add to that the heat, another nearly-worthless rotation the following week, and leg pain that has come back and kept me out of the game and you’ve got a recipe for disaster.  Basically, I’ve been very busy and when I wasn’t, I spent a lot of time wallowing.

At the beginning of the summer, I wrote about how this injury had given me time to spend with those I care about and doing the things other than running that I really love, like hiking, swimming, biking, etc.  When I wrote that, the projected 3 or 4 months of healing time seemed like an eternity, but I knew I could do it.  Well, it’s 6 months later and I have an MRI that confirms that the fractures have healed but a nagging pain that tells me something is still wrong.  And so far nobody has been able to tell me what that something is.  It’s terrible!
However, a few things have happened that have helped me cheer up.  First, it was my birthday on Sunday!  I spent Saturday celebrating at the biggest party in Louisiana – the LSU/Alabama tailgate in Baton Rouge:

Good friends and great weather – Tulane interns at the tailgate

THE BATMOBILE! Every single one was present, which of course made my boyfriend eternally jealous. This is currently the background on his phone =)

For those of you who are unaware, it’s a tradition here for people to pin a dollar to their shirt on their birthday.  People were congratulating me all day, and some even pinned more money on!  I also got several offers of free booze.  Go figure.  I should have been doing this for the first 21 years!

On Sunday (my actual birthday) I got the BEST PRESENT!  James came to visit! Even  though he’s already gone (I took him back to the airport this morning) and I had to go to my rotation while he was here, the time I got to spend was exactly what I needed to pull me out of my funk.  Sometimes here I feel left out because I don’t want to go out drinking until the wee hours of the morning, as the rest of the city does.  And I don’t even have my fall back “I’m running in the morning!” excuse.  What used to be my escape and time to just be alone and relax and do something for myself has become almost nonexistent, and the times I do push myself and go out there it has been really hurting.  So to have a best friend here who is happy to just hang out, make dinner, go for walks, and play with the dog is the best.  James is perfectly content to help me do a puzzle (remember that visit in August!?), write my next boot camp class, and plan adventures for when we get somewhere less hot and flat and concrete.  It’s awesome.

Gang’s all here! Post-birthday brunch nap time. Louie refused to be anywhere but right between us all. visit. long.

My boys.

With an excellent few days under my belt, a MUCH better rotation for the next two weeks, and initial contact made with a physical therapy place, I’m feeling much better than I was a week ago.  Crisis appears to be averted…for now.  I plan to focus on tracking the snowfall back home in anticipation of SKIING for the entire time I’m there over break, coordinating a thanksgiving feast of epic taste and nutrition proportions, volunteering at some local road races, and mapping out a curriculum for a class I’ll be teaching next semester at the Reily Center to keep myself out of the pit I’ve found myself slipping into lately.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

