Lentil-tempeh vegetarian sloppy joes

Who doesn’t love sloppy joes?  Everybody’s gotta get their hands (and face, and shirt…) dirty every once in a while and this childhood classic is the perfect way to do it.  Unfortunately, your typical can of Manwich and ground beef combo on a white bun provides ungodly amounts of saturated fat and refined carbs.  Then there’s the issue that I live with a vegetarian.  Aside from IQF salmon fillets, tilapia fillets, and chicken breasts; it’s nearly impossible to cook meat without having way too many left overs, and if I were to make sloppy joes the old fashioned way I’d be eating sloppy for weeks!  That’s just unbecoming of a woman (ok so I would totally do it, but it would get boring).

Luckily for me and Andrea, I was flipping through some of her cook books – Skinny Bitch by Kim Barnouin, which I later learned inspired her vegetarianism – during Isaac (how old-timey! ..lol) and came across the recipe for Lentil-Tempeh Sloppy Joes.  I finally ended up making them about a month ago now, and they were incredible!  I added a few extra vegetables – celery and mushrooms – and used some red wine to really get things nice and delicious and sloppy.  By the end, we had an incredible meal with lots of flavor and texture.  I highly recommend this for anyone looking for a nostalgic yet healthy meal option!  The best part?  Leftovers reheated well and it would be easy to freeze.

Here is the recipe, unadulterated.

I had great pictures of all my chopped vegetables AND the finished product, but this was so long ago that they were on my old phone and now they are gone forever =( so you’ll have to take my word that it was sloppy and delicious even though it was HEALTHY!  As I said, I added extra veggies and used red wine to deglaze and slop-ify.  I really think you could add just about any vegetable to this and it would be delicious, so it’s a perfect thing for all those parents out there who can’t get their kids to eat vegetables, or all those adults out there who can’t seem to stomach them.  Leftovers can be used to make tacos, transformed into chili, or a whole number of other things.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

