RUNNING.

I know, you thought I died or something.

HOW COULD I NOT UPDATE YOU ABOUT MY RUNS IN OVER A MONTH?!!?!!?!?!

Laziness I guess.  Or busy-ness.  Or both.  Know what I just noticed?  Lazy:laziness::busy:business.  Weird, probably should have made that connection years sooner.

But anyway I have told you guys that I am running with a group now, so I’m running pretty regularly (read: 30-35 mi/wk) and trying to get a good base to really train hard for Boston.  Really.  I’m talkin 3:05.

So what does this look like in practice?  Here is the week of 12/17 – 12/23.  I will say, fitting in my runs between working at the Reily center before 9 hour days at Ochsner bariatric surgery clinic AND traveling home was a little rough, but I tried to work it out:

MONDAY: Rest.  Ran long the day before (15 – more than I should have seeing as my previous longest run was ~10.  Whoops)

TUESDAY: The speed workout I was supposed to do Monday with the group that I missed because of work and rest.  The plan was this: 3 or 4 x 3 minutes hard (90 seconds easy), 10 minutes very slow jog or walk between, 3 or 4 x 3 minutes hard (90 seconds easy).  My goal was to run the hard intervals at 6:45 for the first set, then 6:40 for the second set with the rest 1:30 around 7:30 pace.  I nailed the intervals but my recovery was a little slow.

WEDNESDAY: Happy’s running club!  A.K.A. a 5k jaunt around downtown followed by 2-for-1 beer.  I made Andrea come even though she was nervous about it and I ran with her.  I didn’t use my watch but we ran around 3 miles at a leisurely pace and followed it up with some fun times, including posing for the camera while getting a tour of a car that Nissan brought to show off (while handing out some swag).  Running, good friends, good times.

Looking contemplative, Andrea!  Sorry I am so embarrassing.

THURSDAY: 4.5ish miles with the running club from the Rusty Nail!  It wasn’t super fast – 7:18 pace – but for some reason it hurt a lot.  Two runs down Bourbon in two days – can’t complain.  I really love the hecklers along that route, they are endlessly entertaining.

FRIDAY: Traveling day!

SATURDAY: 16 (ish) miles.  Planned to run 2 hours at 7:35 – 7:40.  The only long routes around here have greater vertical than the entire state of Louisiana, so I was pretty nervous starting out.  I even forgot about water and fuel so I grabbed a handful of stale gummi bears that I found in the kitchen and threw a bottle out the car window about 5 miles into the route to sip on when I got there (I stopped at a bagel place 10 miles in after emerging from the wilderness).  Turns out I ran a 7:36 pace despite the 655-foot elevation gain, snow flurries, and 45mph wind gusts.  Felt pretty darn good about that!  I did end up doing the full 16, though I jogged it out for the last half mile or so after I hit the 2-hr mark when I stopped my watch before then so I could have my average pace for the planned run…#obsessed

SUNDAY: Recover from partying in Boston.  Luckily I survived the drive home on very little sleep and not enough coffee.  Yet another triumph for the weekend!

Overall: ~30 miles, some serious hills, a considerable amount of pain, and LOTS OF FUN!  Man, I love running. =)  The best part now is that when I’m doing a crazy ass speed workout that makes me want to puke (like the one I did on xmas eve), I can just tell myself Lauren, you would have sold your firstborn to do this a few months ago.  Suck it up and DO IT!  And it’s totally true.  I’m a lucky girl to have friends to train with and support me, a schedule that allows me to get in some serious running time (even if they do start at 6AM sometimes), and legs that will take me the distance.  Life is sweeeeet

This entry was posted in Running, Workouts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

